Governance – Australian Medical Association (NSW)


AMA (NSW) Board of Directors

Dr Kean-Seng Lim

AMA (NSW) President

Dr Lim is the 2015 RACGP General Practitioner of the Year and is a member of the AMA (NSW) Council.

He is a GP Principal in a group practice in Mt Druitt and a GP Supervisor. He has previously served on the RACGP Faculty Board and WSDGP Board.

He is currently the Secretary of the Mt Druitt Medical Practitioners Association.

Dr Danielle McMullen

AMA (NSW) Vice President

Dr McMullen is a GP practicing in Sydney's inner west. She graduated from UNSW in 2010, completed a Diploma of Child Health, a Certificate in Reproductive and Sexual Health, and is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Since her prevocational training across a number of rural and metropolitan hospitals, she has undertaken GP training in clinics in NSW and the NT.

She advocates passionately on behalf of doctors-in-training and was chair of the NSW DITC from 2014 to 2016.

Dr Sandy Jusuf

Chair, AMA (NSW) Council

Dr Sandy Jusuf is a dual-trainee in emergency medicine and psychiatry, having worked in various metropolitan and rural hospitals in Australia and overseas, including the United Kingdom and the Solomon Islands.

She currently works as a psychiatry registrar in the Northern Sector and an emergency registrar at Canterbury hospital.

Dr Jusuf is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and on the Board of the Doctors' Health Advisory Service NSW.

She is passionate about doctors' health and set up the Health and Wellbeing website for junior doctors.

Dr Andrew Zuschmann

Honorary Treasurer

Dr Andrew Zuschmann has a commitment to teaching and the development of a sustainable workforce.

He is a Staff Specialist at Sutherland and St George Hospitals, with a private practice in Miranda.

Dr Zuschmann is a Specialist Obstetrician and Gynaecologist and Fertility Specialist.

He graduated from the University of NSW in 1996 and completed specialist training in 2005.

Dr Costa Boyages

Chair Professional Issues Committee

Costa joined the AMA Board as a Director in 2017 after coming to NSW Council as the Illawarra Shoalhaven representative on the NSW AMA Council in 2016.

Costa is a former international lawyer and Australian diplomat turned rural GP and VMO living and working in the NSW South Coast/Berry area.

He holds down a clinical teaching appointment with the University of Wollongong and is also a Reservist Medical Officer with the Australian Army.

Costa maintains a strong interest in rural health equity, doctor welfare and the potential of the doctor-advocate to effect social change.

Dr Brendan Steinfort

Chair Hospital Practice Committee

Dr Steinfort runs a busy, clinical neurointerventional radiology practice working as a VMO in neurosurgery departments at RNSH and Westmead Hospitals; a VMO at Westmead Private, Macquarie University and Sydney Adventist Hospitals; as well as rooms at St Leonards, MUH and Westmead. He has previously been a staff specialist at RNSH radiology where he was Director of Training for a number of years. He completed his radiology training at RNSH, and was also the inaugural interventional neuroradiology fellow at RNSH before completing a further fellowship at the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, Queen’s Square, London.

This experience has highlighted to Dr Steinfort the need for good communication between doctors and hospital administrators to enable optimal care of patients.

Dr Fred Betros

Dr Betros is a general surgeon practicing in Western Sydney and the Hawkesbury district in Sydney’s north-west.  He has VMO appointments at Blacktown and Hawkesbury Hospitals and a private practice encompassing suburbs from Bella Vista to Windsor.

He has trained and worked in Western Sydney for the best part of 25 years.  This has fostered a deep understanding and commitment to both our public and private healthcare systems.

Dr Betros has been a member of the RACS NSW Regional Board in General Surgical Training since 2013 and is active in both undergraduate and postgraduate medical education.  He was the inaugural recipient of the General Surgeons Australia Excellence in Surgical Teaching Award (NSW & ACT).

Dr Michael Bonning

Dr Michael Bonning is a GP in western Sydney, a serving medical officer in the Royal Australian Navy, and a passionate advocate for healthcare equity including in Indigenous health.

He has served on a number of other health related boards including GP Synergy, beyondblue and the Federal AMA.

He was formerly a clinical advisor to the CEO of Health Workforce Australia and was president of the Australian Medical Students' Association.

Dr Kate Kearney

Dr Kate Kearney is a medical registrar, completing physician training at St Vincent’s Hospital in Sydney. She graduated from the University of Sydney in 2012 and completed a Masters of Medicine in Clinical Epidemiology in 2014 from the same institution.

She is currently one of the deputy chairs of the AMA Federal Council of Doctors-in-Training, and is a member of the Adult Medicine Division Education Committee of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians. She participates in a number of other committees and working groups across the AMA and RACP.


Standing Committees

AMA (NSW) By-Laws and Constitution

Constitution (Amended 8 May 2018)

By-Laws (Amended May 2011)

Code of Ethics